Roar Shorts + Shirt

I’m kind of freaking out about the cuteness of these shorts. The shirt: eh, details below. But these shorts, man! So cute!

Roar Shorts 2

Pattern: I finally broke down and bought the Kid Shorts pattern from MADE. I didn’t want to spend money on it, but I really wanted to figure out how to do flat front shorts. I thought it would be tricky. Little did I know… the tutorial is on her blog and I didn’t really have to buy a pattern anyway. And not really very tricky. But, hey, support someone doing something cool, right? The pattern has a lot of variations, including boy and girl sizing, it comes together quickly, and I’m sure I’ll be using it a lot. It is also shaped a bit more precisely than other shorts patterns I’ve tried, so I think it’s a winner.

Roar Shorts 1

Shorts Fabric: Tiger Stripe from the Zoo Menagerie collection from Westminster. When I first saw it, I thought it was ghastly. I (however stupidly) told Lottie she could pick whatever she liked from the clearance section at Ragtime. She was so enthused about this that I couldn’t say no. Actually she wanted this one and a blue version that was, I think, penguins. I made her pick one. Now that I see it in these cute little shorts, I think it’s fabulous. I ended up having to do in-seam pockets because the direction of the print meant that I couldn’t eke out enough for the front pockets I wanted. I added the buttons because a dash of pink really increases the odds that she’ll wear any given article.

Roar Shirt

Shirt Fabric: The shirt. Ugh. Stupid shirt. This yellow shirt was made from a hand-me-down from my mom, who said it didn’t fit her right. Well, it didn’t fit me right either. So I used The Cottage Mama’s Pocket Smock Top pattern to scale it down to a kid-sized shirt. WHICH DOESN’T FIT LOTTIE RIGHT EITHER! It’s like this shirt was doomed to failure from day one. She claims she likes it, but it doesn’t fit very well at all. It’s too short in the back and the arm holes are too small. I finished the arm and neck holes with a bias binding, so there’s not enough stretch (but the pattern was made for wovens… so… what’s up with that?). Also, my machine nearly ate the ears off that poor applique tiger. So she wore this outfit to a birthday party, where she promptly got a big stain on the shirt. It just really wasn’t mean to be. The shorts more than make up for it though.

Roar Outfit

This would have been great for Kid’s Clothing Week, but I was just too darn busy piecing together triangles for the Quilted Reversible Sling Bag to participate that week! BUT that turned out to be a good investment of time because I wound up in the top ten!

Leave a Reply

