KCW Project #3: Daddy’s Girl Dress

This one began with one of Daddy’s shirts. Again, should have taken a before picture of him wearing it. The sleeves were comedically short. What is up with this family growing in weird ways? And there’s no way it shrank. It’s an L.L. Bean dress shirt. I learned while trying to take it apart that every aspect of this shirt is totally top quality. They are not kidding with that lifetime guarantee. I couldn’t even find the stitches to take the pocket off. They use French seams everywhere — even to attach the sleeves. So, here’s before:

IMG_0312Ordinary shirt, to fantastic dress!

Daddy's Girl Dress with PocketsPattern: The bodice is The Cottage Mama’s Charlotte Apron Dress, minus the apron. The skirt is much less full. The result is pretty much the cutest thing I’ve ever sewn. I may say that most times I sew something. But this one is reeeeeeaaaallllyyy cute.

Daddy's Girl Dress DetailFabric: The top is Daddy’s L.L. Bean dress shirt. The purple is a wool/rayon blend from Ragtime. I brought Lottie with me, showed her a piece of the shirt, and let her pick WHATEVER fabric she wanted to go with it. Brave? Maybe. More likely I would have vetoed something really weird. The ribbon trim is actually upholstery trim. That and the vintage buttons came from a giant stash gifted from my mother-in-law. The satin flower at the bottom of the dress is from a curtain I took apart for… reasons I suddenly can’t recall…

Daddy's Girl Dress FrontLottie’s Response: I was actually surprised that she liked it. It’s nothing she would ordinarily pick out for herself in a store, but once she had it on, she seemed to really get a kick out it. It’s also not something I would typically have made, if not pushed with the challenge to use the shirt and the fabric she picked. Definitely need to do more of that. Pockets are always a plus when you’re four, of course. The colors look great on her, and it’s not a terribly fussy dress. She was proud to have picked out the purple herself.

Also goes great with crazy hair.

Daddy's Girl Dress Top

0115-button-300x200-winter15

Leave a Reply

