KCW Project #1: Mommy Dress to Lottie Dress

Behold this lovely dress. Bright and springy, lovely drape, flattering cut…

IMG_0313

…and also way too small for me. It was one of my favorites back before Lottie was born, so I hung on to it, I guess with some notion that I would lose critical bone mass, maybe? I mean, it’s not just a little snug around the tummy. It’s like my actual bones got bigger. So rather than hang onto it until I’m 90, or somehow otherwise shrunken, I turned it into a little Bohemian Girl dress for Lottie.

Picnic Dress Back

Pattern: I used the bodice from The Cottage Mama Summer Picnic Dress and just gathered the heck out of the skirt. I reused the skirt lining but had to make a new bodice lining. I was able to use the existing hem and used a bit of the original bodice for the straps.

DSC_2553 DSC_2557

Lottie’s response: seemed quite happy with it. She wore it all day Sunday. It’s quite the dancing dress. And also just the look for a Bohemian guitar player.

DSC_2573

You know, just a little hippy girl, strumming her guitar. I’m pretty sure I went to college with this chic.

DSC_2571

0115-button-300x200-winter15

Leave a Reply

